Introduction to Indian Air Force - Flying Branch


aeronautical_engineer_aviationThe Flying branch has 4 categories of aircraft flyers

1. Fighter and fighter bombers
2. Bombers
3. Transport
4. Helicopters

Pilots usually specialize in one type of aircraft. The navigators fly in transport and bomber aircrafts only. They assist the Pilots in navigation Pilots are employed exclusively in flying duties, however, they may also lie assigned other duties. Fighter Pilots are trained in air fights to shoot down enemy aircraft and attack ground targets in enemy territory. They fly at 2 to 2.5 times the speed of sound. Fighter bombers can match this speed today. Bombers drop bombs, missiles and other explosives on enemy targets. They are equipped with electronic devices, radars and cameras for pinpoint bombing and target acquisition. Navigators in these aircrafts direct Pilots to the site by navigational equipments, radars and other optical devices and release the bombs.
Transport Pilots carry men, material and explosives at required places. They also carry army personnel, their weapons, guns and light vehicles from one theatre of war to another. Navigators in these aircrafts chart the route, supervise loading of men and equipment, work out fuel requirements and check the flight path with maps during the flight.
Helicopters are used for carrying personnel and ma

terial including hardware and ration to those places and heights and terrains where it is not possible to make an airfield or road but a helipad can be made. Helicopters are used to support both Air force and Army and if needed even Navy as it can land on the ship's deck.

Selection Procedure
To become a Pilot in the Flying Branch of IAF you have to fulfill the mentioned qualifications.

Eligibility Conditions

• The candidate should be Unmarried
• He/She should be a Citizen of India
• Education: A graduate in any discipline (Three years Course) with Maths and Physics at 10 + 2 Level or a B.E (Four Year Course)
• Height at least 162.5 cm and have a leg length in the range of 99 cms (min) to 120 cms (Max)
• Should not suffer from colour blindness or nigh blindness. No corrective lenses.
• A candidate who has failed the Pilot Aptitude Battery Te

st earlier is not eligible.


74 weeks at Air Force Academy Dundigal, Hyderabad. For basic phase of the training. Phase two of the training will be conducted at AFA- Mohamadabad Bidar (Karnataka). Successful candidates 

would be offered Short service commission terms 10 + 5. They would be allowed to fly Transport / Helicopters. For Candidates applying for technical branch Commission
Different possibilities and the required eligibility criteria's


Last modified on Friday, 08 July 2011 17:51